Modern Outsider


The Bright Light Social Hour + Curtis Roush Vinyl Combo

Image of The Bright Light Social Hour + Curtis Roush Vinyl Combo

The Bright Light Social Hour - Missing Something EP - Translucent Pink Vinyl + Download Card
Curtis Roush - Cosmic Campfire Music LP - Vinyl + Download Card

The Bright Light Social Hour - Missing Something EP
Produced by the band, mixed by Spoon’s Jim Eno, and mastered by Dave Cooley (J Dilla, Wolf Alice, Blood Orange, M83), Missing Something was released on Friday, September 28 through Modern Outsider Records..

A deeply personal collection of songs, Missing Something was heavily influenced by the death of vocalist and multi-instrumentalist Jackie O’Brien’s brother, Alex, the band’s longtime manager who struggled with bipolar disorder.

“These songs capture a very confusing and uncanny turn in our lives, Alex's decent into sudden and severe bipolar 1 disorder as well as the end of a global epoch,” said Jackie. “To me, the music channels the schizoid joy of your world unraveling so quickly you've got no choice but to pull back and enjoy your beautiful, short-circuiting self, not even worrying about making sense of it all 'cause that's just not possible.”

Known for their incredible live shows, The Bright Light Social Hour has performed at major festivals in addition to their own national and international touring, including Lollapalooza and Austin City Limits Festival.

Missing Something
01. Missing Something
02. Trip With Lola
03. Alternate Loving
04. Past The Edge Of Time
05. Inside Out

The Bright Light Social Hour

Curtis Roush - Cosmic Campfire Music LP
Fusing bedroom soul with the ambient expanses of shoegaze, singer/songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Curtis Roush explores love and loss away from the purview of his psych-rock comrades The Bright Light Social Hour.

Suffused with the 70s album rock of his Californian parents, Austin-born Roush buried himself in instruments and musical genres shifting from the metal and classic rock of his teenage years, the hardcore and post-rock of his college years, and into the expansive psychedelia as a member of The Bright Light Social Hour.

Reeling from the end of a relationship and the suicide of Alex O’Brien, manager of The Bright Light Social Hour and brother to bandmate Jack O’Brien, Roush spent time between tours in Marfa, TX focusing on softer, more acoustic songwriting married with expansive, psychedelic production – a “quiet storm of the west.” Roush composed the songs of his debut album, Cosmic Campfire Music, on a laptop during fleeting moments in motels, a tour van, and his parents’ spare bedroom. A reflection of these hushed, quieter spaces, these songs conjure an existential meditation on love – how it rarely arrives, how it often leaves. Working with producer Erik Wofford at Cacophony Recorders, Roush tracked the album to analog tape over one month in the winter of 2016. He played every instrument.

“Getaway” releases an early blast of propulsive energy from its Motown churn and crackling guitar. Album centerpiece “Polestar” nestles its country-tinged yearning in stately slide guitar and languid synths. On “Never Leave You Cold,” Roush ponders devotion over a breezy motorik rhythm before exploding into an immersive hymn of professed love. The album closes with the interstellar gospel of “Space is Empty (Come With Me)” – a seven minute epic reflecting on defeat and rebirth amidst our current political climate. From its calm confessions to its skyward gaze, Cosmic Campfire Music is a listen for hushed respite before the long struggle ahead.

Cosmic Campfire Music
01. Mirage
02. Getaway
03. Polestar
04. Won't You Please
05. Never Leave You Cold
06. Marfa
07. You Already Got Me
08. Real Love
09. Space Is Empty (Come With Me)

Curtis Roush