Modern Outsider


Black Pistol Fire - Hush Or Howl CD

Image of Black Pistol Fire - Hush Or Howl CD

Black Pistol Fire's CD version of Hush or Howl.

Black Pistol Fire is a Canadian Rock and Roll duo that splits time between Toronto, Ontario and Austin, Texas. Their wild and energetic rock-and-roll sound has been described as a mix of classic southern rock and garage punk, garnering comparisons to early Kings of Leon, Creedence Clearwater Revival, The White Stripes, and Clutch. The band features Kevin McKeown on Guitar/Lead Vocals and Eric Owen on Drums. The two have been friends since kindergarten and began playing music together when they discovered a shared passion for rock and roll music in high school.

While playing a local Austin hotspot, Producer Jim Diamond (The White Stripes, The Von Bondies, Jon Spencer Blues Explosion) approached the band about recording their 2011 record. They have supported the likes of Weezer, BRMC, Band of Skulls, State Radio, Shonen Knife, and Lucinda Williams. The band recorded their 2nd LP in the early 2012 with producer Michael Rocha in Toronto. This album, Big Beat 59, was released in August 2012, with songs with the album being put into rotation on major taste-making radio stations KEXP, KCRW, KUTX, and KDHX.

The band gained further momentum during SXSW 2013 where The Huffington Post called the band 'the next big thing' and 'the most energetic and musically versatile of all the bands playing the festival'.

Hush or Howl was again recorded with Michael Rocha, this time in Austin, TX. The album has a release date of April 1, 2014 via Modern Outsider.

Hush or Howl
01. Alabama Coldcock
02. Dimestore Heartthrob
03. Baby Ruthless
04. Your Turn To Cry
05. Hipster Shakes
06. Run Rabbit Run
07. Honeydripper
08. Blue Eye Commotion
09. Hush
10. Show Pony
11. Grease My Wheel

Black Pistol Fire